In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations

It is true that the growth of lifespan has an adverse impact on urbanites and communities in the developed parts of the world. There are a number of difficulties behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be enforced to resolve serious issues.

One of the major challenges of the growing population of elderly people is that it puts a heavy burden on young people. Firstly, descendants spend much time taking good care of retired parents instead of working to earn more, which leads to financial difficulties. That is becoming an obstacle in career promotion and preventing workers from pursuing a thriving career. To address this issue, local authorities should subsidize the costs for personal caregivers to assist family's seniors. It is also integral to educate employees about the significance of money management and pension plans. By doing this, once individuals reach their retirement age, they will have a certain amount of savings to pay for their expenses without the dependence on family funds.

On the other hand, a large proportion of seniors put pressure on the public health system, especially nursing homes when there are not abundant facilities to accommodate all elderly. Older people are more vulnerable to chronic diseases, heart attacks, or diabetes, which requires special medical treatments. That explains why the government is advised to build more nursing homes and open more courses at educational institutions which train nurses and doctors. Another solution worth implementing is to recruit overseas healthcare workers to maintain high-quality services.

In conclusion, various steps could be taken to tackle the potential challenges that a country encounters with an aging population.