In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

The developed nations witnessed gradual growth in the average life span which can result in a lot of issues for BOTH individuals and society. To cut down the impact of aging-trend populations, the authorities need to propose several appropriate solutions

The growing population of elderly people can be highly problematic for many reasons. One of the key disadvantages is the weakening manpower of the nations because the proportion of retired people increases while the main productive labor is the young adults that trend upward. This problem can be significantly affected the economy as the army force of the countries. Another adverse implement of the average life span is human health. For example, Infectious diseases easily impact on elderly people more than that on young ones’ which resulted in putting a heavy load on the healthcare system. Therefore, the budget investment for the healthcare system increases while the economic source is unstable.

In order to combat those problems, governments must have active, timely, and correct policies. One of the best options is to promote population rejuvenation via a fertility policy. For instance, The increase in the birth rate in Japan also makes the population more balanced. In addition, women can be the central breadwinners in spite of stay-at-home moms that decline the burden of the national economy. The next measure that should be taken into consideration is to organize many healthy clubs such as yoga, meditation, do cardiovascular exercises... for the elderly to maintain an active lifestyle as well as exercise their health, thus preventing some infectious diseases.

In conclusion, the increase in average life expectancy will not be an alarming problem if this problem should be adopted in the right measure