With the development of modern transport comes environmental problems. What possible solutions are there to these problems?

With the spread of means of transport, our planet is undergoing many issues such as rising temperatures and smog.

Even if these problems were unsolved for many years so far, with the newborn “green energy” and a more caring behaviour from the people, there seems to be a solution to preserve the environment without giving up with vehicles.

Nowadays, thanks to a impressive development of science and engineering, we are able to produce energy (mainly electric energy) from wind, sea waves and, of course, from sunlight. Although not every country is investing in those new technologies, there are some countries, like California, where you get financial assistance if you choose to buy an electric car instead of a gasoline-powered one. In many other countries like Italy, Denmark, France it has started a trend aimed to increase the numbers of station where people can charge their cars.

Of course not only cars, but also ships and airplanes need to be changed in order to save the environment.

Moreover, even if an increasing diffusion of modern transports can bring benefits, we must remember that new engines alone cannot make the difference. We should use vehicles only when we really need to: how many times have you got in your car and when somewhere near by that can be also be easily reached on foot or by bicycle? Why not using public transports instead of your car?

In the end, it’s desirable that states will make look toward electric power (with taxes and subsidies) and people would try to use vehicles only when really needed, in particular public transports to reduce emissions.