The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

It is apparent that English has become widely spoken by many people as a result of tourist development. As a matter of fact, some people believe that English will soon become an universal language. Having one global language definitely has some benefits. However, there are also drawbacks that need to be considered as well.

As many people nowadays like travelling to other countries, it is crucial for both visitors and native inhabitants to learn English. Communication and understanding will be much more easier and it will allow them to share about their cultures effectively, therefore make the world become closer and more connected. On the one hand, knowing English is a must when you aspire to study or work overseas. That said, having a good command of English will definitely open the gate to many prestigious university for students and international companies for adult. Furthermore, when you learn a language it will remarkably develop your brain, widen your knowledge and enhance your intelligence.

Firstly, not everyone are good at learning language, or if so, some of them will prefer other languages instead of English. Therefore, it will be difficult and frustrating for them to learn as they find English unnecessary. Another important thing is that when English become universal more innovation will be put on English in order to create education for people. This will leads to the oblivion of other languages and affects the diversity of cultures.

All things considered, having English as a global language has both good and bad points. That being said, we should give people a freedom of choice when it comes to learning language and most importantly, preserve local languages and cultures.