Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Environment has been widely perceived as an integral component in sustaining human beings and animals alike as well as accelerating economic growth. It is commonly acknowledged that, in tandem with burgeoning technological advancements, the ecological balance has been adversely impinged upon by such developments. While some apportion the blame to people's complex lifestyle, it is technology that is primarily attributed to inimical effects on the environment, according to the opposite view. Generally interpreting, though following a simple living is of benefit, the importance of technological devices in protecting the ecology is not to be overlooked.

To commence with, a change in lifestyle towards the minimalism is efficacious in keeping the society environmentally-friendly. The proliferation of products consumed on a regular basis per capita contributes greatly to the problem of pollution and global warming inasmuch as large amounts of fuel was heavily invested in product manufacturing and delivery. A simple living, however, is analogous with the propensity to purchase less and be more in touch with personal demands, thereby diminishing carbon footprint, conserving energy resources spent on producing goods and at the same time, setting aside more money. On top of that, a shift to a minimal lifestyle means people are inclined to opt for ecofriendly means of transport, namely biking or walking. This, indubitably, can effectuate air pollution abatement since gases exhausted from petrol vehicles is a contributing contaminant and, by extension, health improvement. That being the case, the impact of simple living is propitious for the society as a whole.

While technological advancements are known for being injurious to the environment to a certain extent, their role in protecting the ecology is of paramountcy. With the help of clean technology - by definition is the advent of technology aiming to alleviate some deleterious technological impacts on the environment and energy resources, the society has shifted into a more sustainable, low-carbon status quo. Most notably, instead of being operated on fossil fuels and coal, electricity can now be generated by renewable energy thanks to modern devices, namely solar panels and wind turbines which are able to naturally replenish and convert energy. To epitomize this point, renewable resources, having overtaken coal in 2010 to become the second largest provider of electricity, could produce more than 20% of the UK's electricity. Furthermore, the advent of smart technology has so far exerted a positive influence on the populace in environmental terms. What has primarily fostered mainstream awareness of the environment is social media and modern gadgets where they can remotely disseminate information and knowledge worldwide. Virtual means of communication, moreover, has also considerably reduced travel in that social meetings and family reunions can be conducted online via a wifi-connected smartphone, which considerably mitigate pollution from transport emissions.

To encapsulate the point, I firmly subscribe to the view that a minimal life combined with the development of technology can profoundly enhance the environment. In order to tackle further problems, it is of consequence that both methods work compatible together.