Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, while others think that this is the role of parents.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

These days, discipline is an ever increasing problem in contemporary schools. Discipline is extremely important so that children are well behaved, have self control and not become a failure in society. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, whilst others think that this is the role of parents. It is the aim of this essay to present the roles of both parents and teachers and also share my opinion about the argument above.

First of all, I think one of the main duties of parents is to not spoil and pamper their child. Once a child is pampered, it is extremely hard to sculpt the child into a person with discipline. Therefore, parents need to be strict and show authority but also show their children some respect so that they are not intimidated by their parents. Parents should also become a role model and show some discipline to their children for example by obeying traffic rules and so on. Furthermore, I think parents should educate their kids to be discipline by giving them chores and making sure they do them.

Secondly, the roles of teachers. Teachers should not only educate students academically but also educate them about discipline which is not emphasised in the curriculum. Teachers should show them the consequences of not being discipline and also inspire them to become a better person by telling them real-life success stories. Teachers should also punish students for their wrong doings such as not doing their homework, not obeying school rules and many more. Teachers should also monitor students behaviours on a daily basis. If one of the students does not show any signs of discipline, it is mandatory to give the student one on one counselling so that that student can be advised.

To sum it all up, parents cannot control their kids in school whilst teachers cannot educate students at home. In my opinion, both sides are equally important in instilling the virtue which is discipline into children. Lack of proper parental and school discipline brings too much drawbacks to not just them but the society. I hope that both sides join forces and not argue who has the larger responsibility to raise children that are disciplined.