It is inevitable that as technology develops traditional cultures must be lost. Technology and tradition are incompatible. You cannot have both together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Technology and tradition are two sides of a coin called culture. They are often viewed as being conflicted and will never be compatible with each other. However, it is still worthwhile to investigate the possibility of coexistence of tradition and technology.

It is an undeniable fact that some traditions have been replaced by machines, the scientific and technological solution to achieve better efficiency. Firstly, utilising machines will lose the making of some handicrafts. Computer integrated manufacturing can produce superior merchandises at higher rate and lower cost than man made goods. Secondly, technology brings a change of paradigm about time. Everyone is living a much faster life than in the past. As a result, tradition ceremonies which were being held for a long period of time are being shorten gradually. The spiritual meanings behind these ceremonies are slowly lost over time.

On the contrary, it is observed that many traditions still flourish with the aid of science and technology. A prime example would be fireworks. Complex colours have been added to traditional fireworks resulting an even more spectacular sight. Computer-controlled triggers also allow fireworks to be launched at different precise timings enabling more complicated shape rather than the traditional sphere. Another example would be craving for traditional moral values and design. This can be shown through the ever increasing number of participants in traditional arts such as swordsmanship, and tea ceremony in Japan.

In conclusion, traditions and science can coexist. Tradition is always an unless inspirational source for technology while discoveries of technology reinforce the value of cultural traditions.