Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using Facebook as a means of online instruction.

The widespread use of technology in all areas of life has led to its growing presence in educational settings. Facebook, which is the largest social networking site, has been used with the purpose of enhancing instruction. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons of the use of Facebook as an educational tool.

One of the potential advantages of using Facebook as an instructional tool is that it can contribute to solve teachers’ problem of inadequate class time. A more personal and focused contact with the students is always limited, especially in an overcrowded classroom while contact hours are relatively few. With the support of Facebook, teachers and students have more chances to discuss things related to the lessons. Plus, Facebook provides teachers effective tools to manage class projects and assignments. Students post their assignments, and teachers can give feedback by commenting on the posts. In addition, online learning activities give students the opportunity to work collaboratively, learn together and from each other. For instance, students can broaden their knowledge and have access to a broader view of what others think about the same topic though online discussions because some students inside the classroom often feel shy to speak out, but on Facebook, they have greater confidence to give their views.

Although Facebook provides many benefits, it also presents several downsides. First, students might have difficulty maintaining their attention on class activities when Facebook activities are initiated. For example, when accessing Facebook to do an assignment, a student might be intrigued by lots of things such as an interesting video or shocking news, which gradually leads to a decrease in efficiency. Second, although teachers can give a lecture via a live stream, they cannot interact with students face to face, so it is hard to engage them in online activities. This is a big minus of Facebook as compared to Zoom, a video conferencing platform.

In short, Facebook has many features that teachers and students can take advantage of. It enables more intense interaction of students with the teacher and among students. Still, there are some pitfalls implied in the use of it. Teachers, therefore, need to be creative and up-to-date with the current technology in order to keep up with the fast-paced society, and create greater lessons.