Discuss when, if ever, capital punishment can be viewed as a valid punishment for crime.

In this modern era, the increasing number of crime cases makes some decision makers tent to choose the high level of punishment such as the death penalty. Death penalty becomes a heated debate in public whether it is the appropriate punishment or not to be implemented. According to my opinion, there is no justification for validating the death penalty. This essay aims to explain more in detail about this issue.

Some believe that capital punishment is the best solution to prevent the same crime cases in the future. They assure that it can be an effective way to give the deterrent effect on society, so people will think first before committing the crime. Because usually, the crime doers who get the capital punishment are people who made some extraordinary crimes, such as the murderers, narcotic dealers, and terrorists. For instance, when a terrorist get the capital punishment, the authority try to send some message to other terrorist groups that their actions are not good and the capital punishment will be their reward of their action. So by applying the punishment, the government try to persuade people to follow the existence rules in order to become a good civilization.

In contrast, some believe that capital punishment is not the proper punishment, because it against the human rights. They believe that according to the International Human Rights Agreement, every people has their own right to life. So giving the capital punishment is seen as breaking the human rights. Furthermore, they argue that the nature of punishment is to solve the problem, not to make it worst. By implementing the capital punishment, the real problem has not been solved yet, moreover it just get worst because the crime doers cannot fix their mistake. So the death penalty is not the effective way to solve the problems in society.

According to my opinion, the latest argument is more acceptable. Because, in this modern era with the increasing number of well-educated people, it will be good if the government starts to discuss about the more humanity punishment. Because the crime doers need to be fixed, not to be vanished. So it is better to educate and rehabilitate them so they will have some chances to change their bad behavior. For instance, by giving them the whole-life punishment and work in the community services. To sum up, the capital punishment is not the effective method to address the problems in society. Furthermore it contradiction with the human rights, so iti is better to implement the more humanity punishment which will also prevent people for doing the crimes.