School is certainly the place where students spend most of their time. Some people argue that arts such as painting and music should be obligated at schools, while many contend that schools ought to concentrate on math and science. I personally disagree that arts must be mandated and will elaborate the same in this essay.

In this contemporary era, world has become more competitive and students are expected to learn more science and technology. Many schools, for instance, inculcate programming skills during students’ early years of education, which can help them to acquire lucrative jobs in the future. If schools concentrate on arts instead, they might not have sufficient time for upscaling the students with these programming skills. The key skill of finding job opportunity, thus, would not be imbibed if schools concentrate more on arts.

Moreover, some students loathe arts as they lack confidence in such skills. If schools mandate dancing, for example, some morbidly obese students might be seriously uncomfortable. This might result in anxiety and depression for those kids which will deteriorate their health. In extreme cases, those children might discontinue their education to come out of this stress and fear. Mandating arts, hence, might have adverse impact on students’ attitude towards school.

In conclusion, schools must concentrate on science and technology more than arts as the former is more important in fetching them employment opportunities in the future. Also, mandating arts might afflict some students who are disinterested in learning them. Hence, arts should not be a compulsory at schools.