Do you agree or disagree with the following statement High schools should allow students to study the courses that students want to study Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

It is a widespread belief that high school is the time when the schooling of students should be given great consideration. Therefore, it raises the question of whether high school students should have the freedom to focus on the courses that they have a preference. From my point of view, I partly agree with this statement.

On the one hand, students would benefit greatly from the prospect that they get the chance to study the courses as well as the subjects they are interested in. High school students these days are being completely snowed under with tremendous homework as well as assignments of a wide range of different subjects. For instance, the curriculum for a high school student in Viet Nam consists of twelve subjects, ranging from natural science to social one. Consequently, it seems extremely difficult for high school students to maintain a high academic performance of all the subjects required, not to mention the courses they have an interest in. Furthermore, it seems there are some certain subjects which are irrelevant and not directly related to the career students choose in the future. Thus, the efforts put into studying those unnecessary courses might prove futile. Conclusively, it would be of enormous benefit for high school students to have the opportunity to focus on the subjects of their interests.

On the other hand, allowing students to study whatever courses they want might result in some unprecedented problems. First of all, most high school students have only a vague notion of which career path they will take in the future. For this reason, many students would suffer from a lack of knowledge required for particular jobs if they changed their minds about their professions later on. Besides, some idle students tend to take advantage of the aforementioned proposal by deliberately choosing the subjects that are easier to learn and less time-consuming. Hence, it would be a good idea for high schools to impose some compulsory courses such as Literature, Mathematics, and English. Convincingly, these courses would be of great help in almost every job.

In conclusion, the outlook of giving high school students the right to study the courses they wish might sound an ingenious idea, on condition that some mandatory subjects are included in the curriculum.