Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific examples to support your answer.

It is widely believed that grades can act as an incentive for students to study. In my opinion, this idea is rather absurd as marks make students lose motivation in their learning.

On the one hand, bad grades demoralize a student's will to learn. First of all, getting bad marks is associated with the feeling of complexity and shame among learners at schools. It would be a very terrible feeling to be the only one who gets the lowest marks in the whole class. As a result, those unfortunate students will develop a disinterest in learning. Additionally, self-doubt is likely to emerge for students who constantly get low marks, thus demotivating them from making progress in learning.

On the other hand, getting good grades does not stimulate students to study hard, either. Specifically, students with high academic achievements are bound to get a lot of pressure. It is a common sight to see parents as well as teachers expect their all-A students to keep up the pace, which in turn discourages them in their school work. Besides, marks seem to instigate the bad habit of cheating among idle students instead of studying hard as they are supposed to.

In conclusion, I would argue that grades are not a stimulus for students to learn owing to the negative effects that marks have on students' motivation.