There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Music is an abstract as well as complicated art, which has profound influences on humans. As society develops, the music varies from the traditional one to the international counterpart. For this reason, many people hold the view that traditional music bears more importance compared to music from other countries. From my point of view, each type has its significance and therefore is equally influential.

The first point to bear in mind is that music has long been an inevitable aspect of human lives. Long before humans invented languages, they had used music as a means of communication. It seems that music has such a magical power that it enables people to express a variety of different attitudes owing to its wide range of melodies and tunes. Therefore, even in modern society, two foreigners can still understand each other even if one does not know a word of the language which the other speaks. Besides, it is the emotional effects that explain why music is so crucial to humans. By listening to music, it reminds us of either sweet or sad memories, as well as evoking mixed feelings inside us. Also, music seems to be conducive to a relaxed atmosphere, thus strengthening our ability to concentrate. For instance, there exists a genre of music called ‘lofi’ which most people enjoy listening to while working or studying. Conclusively, music plays a fundamental role in humans lives.

Another point to mention is that the two main kinds of music, namely, traditional and international one, have their own distinct qualities. Firstly, traditional music tends to be less catchy yet with meaningful lyrics and cultural values. Thus, traditional music is generally used in rituals and ceremonies rather than for recreation. Meanwhile, international music includes a wide range of genres to enjoy, such as rock, jazz, folk, and so forth. Due to its vast variations, most people tend to listen to international music for relaxation. However, one must memorize the traditional songs of their country, such as the national anthem, as a way to preserve their cultural values. Conclusively, it would be wrong to claim that traditional music is more important than an international counterpart and vice versa.

In conclusion, music, in general, has powerful effects on humans and each type of it serves different purposes. Hence, I would argue that traditional music and music from other countries are equally important.