Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:It is better to make friends with intelligent people than with the people who have a good sense of humor.

Friends are those who have confidence in you and offer assistance to you unconditionally; they are always there no matter what happens. On a practical level, friends benefit us in many ways due to the valuable characteristics that they are in possession of. Then which characteristic of a friend is more attractive, being intelligent or humorous? From my perspective, I attach greater importance to intelligence of friends than the sense of humor.

Making friends with intelligent people affords us the opportunity to achieve self-improvement. There is no denying that ingenious people must possess certain significant characteristics making them stand out among the peers. By making friends with them, we are more likely to be positively influenced by them and obtain the important quality and effective methods in deal with problems we confront in our life, thus increasing the possibility of fulfilling our goals. For example, playing with those who are able to manage their time efficiently helps us foster the ability to plan and organize. Also, talking with a person who enjoys favorable social relationship contributes to the cultivation of our excellent communicating skills. What’s more, learning about a friend who succeeds in realizing his dream through hard work motivates us to set a practical goal and work toward it continuously. Therefore, we tend to acquire a myriad of wholesome characteristics by building friendship with intelligent people.

On a more practical level, we have a better chance to come up with creative solutions to the problems we are faced with in our life with the help of ingenious friends. It is not uncommon that we have to meet a multitude of problems or get in trouble that we may find difficult to resolve. However, intelligent friends, being analytical and insightful, never fail to offer advice andguidance that are of great help in overcoming these difficulties. Chances arethat friends with intelligence help us analyze the situation in an efficient way, correct the mistakes we have made in seeking for solutions and predict theresults that our decisions may yield to ensure our successful going throughhard times. Thanks to the wisdom and level-headedness of intelligent friends we have, there is no need for us to worry about the difficulties we may be confronted with either in our study or work.

Admittedly, friends with a good sense of humor could bring us jokes and joy and make our life full of happiness. We may have fun when staying along with humorous friends. Nevertheless, at times of sorrow, it is ingenious friends who surprisingly manage to drive off our loneliness and sadness due to the fact that they are able to comfort us in a comparatively rational way rather than just make us laugh and forget about the adversity.

Hence, it is more desirable to have intelligent friends than friends with a good sense of humor. Not only can ingenious friends provide assistance that contributes toy our success and that makes it possible for you to overcome difficulties, but also they could better satisfy your psychological needs when you are in bad mood than humorous friends do.