Do you think consumers should avoid over-packaged products or it is the responsibility of producers to avoid extra packaging of products? give

your views and relevant examples with your own experience

Packaged goods has become a huge threat to the environment. Over packaging of goods should be reduced by producers as well as People should avoid consumption of packaged goods as they will be harmful for themselves and environment. This essay will discuss on why packaging should be avoided and what alternate methods can be made to avoid threats.

Nowadays, people are highly attracted by the packing methods. Most companies use plastics for packing since their cost is low and available in surplus. Once after the product is consumed people tend to throw away as garbage. A recent report published that 70% of garbage is accumulated from plastics used in packaged goods. Since these wastes are non-bio-degradable they are burnt. For example, in a remote place near Chennai garbage is being dumped and among them plastics are not degradable hence, they are burnt. This results in polluting the air and a threat to the people who inhale it and also creates fog which affects drivers in road.

On the other hand, producers can make several measures to reduce the packaging of products by replacing the plastics with eco-friendly substance like paper etc. This could also reduce the amount of preservatives and additives used. Restaurants could replace their plastic container with aluminum foils which could also help in garbage reduction. For example, A super market nearby has replaced the plastic cover with paper bags for several goods. Paper is recyclable and does not cause any harm to environment.

In a way we can conclude that it is the responsibility for both consumer and producers to avoid over packaging and packaged goods to save and preserve the Environment and also to promote alternate materials that are bio-degradable and eco-friendly.