Do you think it is better for students to work before their university study? Why? Share reasons and specific examples to support your choice.

Questions have always been raised as to whether it is beneficious for students to go into employment before entering into univeristy. In my opinion, I concur with such an insight and believe that forthcoming graduates ought to obtain a job position before their long-term study. Consequently, in this essay, I will be looking at the two main reasons as to why it is advisable to work before univeristy.

Firstly, it is general knowledge that undergraduate courses are extremely expensive and univeristy lifestyle carries a great deal of extra expenditures. Consequently, many students decide to seek for a part-time employment while at university, owing to the fundings provided by the Government are not enough. As research done by Poempeu Fabra Univeristy showed, qualifications of students in a part-time job position tend to decrease by 15% in comparison to the ones who are only devoted to studying. Therefore, it is clearly seen that, were the students to work before committing to university, they could save up money for the predictable expenses.

Secondly, another motive for working before univeristy is that, by this means, many students would permit themselves to think carefully of what to study before committing to univeristy, avoiding, consequently, the likelihood of withdrawing from the course chosen. Research carried out by UCAS reveals that 12% freshers do not finish their commenced first year study and swap to different courses. Had they given themselves time to reconsider it in depth, less students would have dropped their studies.

To sum up, I consider that students should not rush into making decisions nor entering into univiersity directly after A levels. By allowing a span year between compulsory studies and futher education, issues, such as choosing the wrong course or not being able to cope with university expenses, could easily be avoided.