Do you think life will be very different in the near future?

The first 20 years of the 21st century have been the most successful era of humankind when people have experienced the significant development of industry and technology. These promising successes have given many scientists an optimistic view of the picture of our lives after a few decades. However, with the rising concern about climate change and escalating tensions among nations, some experts argue that our future would be apocalyptic if those problems cannot be immediately solved. Personally speaking, the picture of our future heavily depends on many factors that both can support and hamper the development of our society.

With the rapid growth of technology, our lifestyle would be much more different. Artificial intelligence will be in proximity of perfection and be capable of completing all tasks that used to be done by humans only. Therefore, AI combined with automatic machines will help labors work in extreme conditions; and workers then will have more spare time with their families in the next few years. What is more, we will be able to witness the next technological breakthrough, which will mark the next milestone of space traveling and transportation. Thanks to the mass production of spaceships and rockets, the cost of traveling will dramatically reduce, and space traveling will be widely commercialized. This whole new step will be the foundation for the next era of humankind in the future when they will set their footstep on the habitable planet and build a new civilization out there. All of these combined have proved to us that technology will become the core field of global industry and bring society to the next level of development.

Besides those optimistic predictions, social development can be severely affected due to escalated conflict between superpowers. Different ideologies and cultures may push the current world into the bloody battleground. Many large countries will use their military power to fight for markets and influence over the global economy. In addition, climate change is currently making numerous irreversible effects on our planet and destroying our nature, which is the most important and only home for us and other species. The alarming rate of these issues has forced international governments to take action to alleviate the situation. What is more, individuals should be responsible for protecting the Earth and creating our planet a better place.

To conclude, although I take a sanguine view on the future of human civilization, tackling social, political, and environmental problems is still the top priority. However, if we can address all of the issues listed above, I ensure that our future world will be a paradise for our children and family.