Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

It can be established that reading from an early age helps children develop a stronger imagination and expand their knowledge about the world. However, it has been suggested that other activities such as entertainment, arts, and sports can bring as much to the table as books. Even though reading is much less beneficial, this essay is a brief examination of both sides of this discussion.

On one hand, reading can expand a child’s ideas from another person’s perspective and may help to prepare for the implementation of many life skills. Therefore, schools teach pupils how to read first, and then expect any further skills to develop via a study of a textbook before attempting to implement the skills in practice. A study from Manchester University proved that reading helps develop new neural connections in the brain, which are responsible for a person’s ability to think more flexibly and creatively, as well as making it easier for them to learn new things.

Nonetheless, implementation of any skill takes practice, and practice can only be expressed and expanded through other types of enjoyable activities such as games, sports, and observation. All of these can influence a child’s skill development ranging from motor and coordination abilities to social skills. For example, a recent study from The Canadian Olympics Committee has shown that participation in team sports is beneficial for building interpersonal connections and learning various communication tactics since everyone in the team needs to be able to understand each other to achieve mutual success. Moreover, these skills cannot be taught without actual practice as each person tends to respond in different ways to various situations and stimuli.

To conclude, it is without a doubt that books and reading materials will always have their place in the learning process. Yet, to be able to maintain knowledge and learned skills practice will always be required to refresh and rebuild synaptic connections.