Obesity is now a major epidemic in North America. What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem?

Recent statistics have revealed that the number of people suffering from obesity in North America doubled in the past three years. This essay will discuss multiple causes and effects as well as will introduce possible solutions to such a worrying trend that looks set to continue.

It is almost universally accepted that obesity is the consequence of the number of factors such as a sedentary lifestyle, poor diet and last but not least lack of exercising. For example, last research from Harvard University has shown that easy access to fast-food and limited availability of gym or sports complexes in the neighborhood undeniably affects the decision-making process towards less healthy options and leads to dramatic weight gain. It was established that most of the respondents managed to get an extra ten to forty pounds after only the first two months of moving into the area.

All of this leads not only to changes in looks but also affects multiple aspects of the person’s life. For example, besides commonly obesity-related health issues such as heart diseases, high blood pressure, and insomnia, people start to suffer from depression, a sense of isolation and loneliness, increasing self-doubt. No one can argue with the fact that society also starts to articulate negative messages towards overweight people, which ads more stressors to their existence as well.

It seems clear that in order to solve this issue the government needs to be involved. With financial support from it, more programs that are built to use preventive techniques against obesity radical changes can be made. Those programs should include more resources about the horrific consequences of the uncontrollable weight-gain the same as it should encourage people to do more physical activities and follow a well-balanced diet. Moreover, health institutions should invest more towards psychological support and therapy for people who joined the journey of weight-loss so they would not relapse back to life-threating habits.