As the number of private cars has increased, so too has the level of pollution in many cities. What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem?

In the past few decades, mankind has made tremendous technological advances and world has truly become a small village because of globalisation. Now, more and more people are able to afford cars. This has caused an increase in the level of noise and air pollution in large cities.

One solution would be to impose a large amount of tax on privately owned cards. This would discourage people to use their own vehicle to commute to work and utilise other means of public transport. This can definitely reduce the traffic in urban city areas. However, this only deals with a part of the population. Rich could easily afford to pay the higher tax; while, on the other hand, only poor would be affected by this law.

Another way government could tackle this problem is to encourage people to use public transportation. The legal authorities could introduce more comfortable and convenient trains, buses and metros to attract more people. As a result, more and more citizens would use public transport services and thus the level of traffic and pollution would definitely reduce.

Lastly, the government should put more money into researches to find more renewable resources such as solar power and wind instead of using coal and petrol. In addition, there could be seminars or lectures to educate people about how our ways of living are affecting the environment. This may not be a quick solution but it does help to tackle the issues at hand in a long run.

In summary, it is partly government's and partly individual's responsibility to pay attention to increasing pollution and find ways to reduce it if we want to leave a greener planet to our children.