Alternative sources that use the natural power of wind, waves, and sun are too expensive and complicated to replace the coal, oil, and gas that we use to power our cities and transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is supposed by many that alternative sources of energy might solve the climate change problem, which humanity is facing now due to all-time high levels of the greenhouse effect. Others believe that doing such a thing is too troublesome and will affect their bills much more than it has been prognosed. Regarding whether the replacement of old energy sources is cost-effective or not, both sides of the argument will be discussed further.

On one hand, it is hard to argue that the replacement of fossil fuels, main producers of CO2, is going to be challenging as installation of solar panels, windmills, and building hydroelectric power stations is expensive. As an example, replacing necessary details in solar panels might not only cost twice as much as if it was with the regular heating system but also it might take longer time to receive this equipment simply because of its rarity.

Conversely, if we calculate all expenditures in the long-run perspective then it will be clear that electricity will essentially become almost free and with rising popularity, it will be easier to keep maintenance of such equipment at the low-cost. Furthermore, ‘green energy’ does not pollute as much, and have less of a negative impact on environmental contamination. However, not every city or region is suitable for such change as some places have extended winter times or simply lack access to the water and wind. In this case, nuclear power might act as a more practical solution to the issue.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that switch to greener options of energy production needs to happen soon as the entire human race is at the face of distinction. And, in my opinion, the best way to acquire it is to choose power sources according to the weather of the area.