Nowadays people make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good. Others think that face-to-face interaction is essential. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

No one can argue that social media applications drastically have changed the lives of millions of people in the modern world. Even though, I believe that there are more positive aspects to using them this essay will debate both sides of the argument.

Some might say that with technology development interpersonal communications have begun to lack genuine connections and via-screen interactions will never be able to replace the real human presence in someone’s life. Supporters of this argument usually bring to attention that with the rise of the social media networking a lot of people start to avoid participating in the life of local communities and are much more invested in browsing online, discovering new pen pals instead of living in real-time and facing real issues such as church meetings, government protests and so on.

On the other hand, recent Harvard University studies have shown that in the USA most of the students who were forced to move away from families to pursue further education felt much happier and felt less abandon in general as they used such applications as FaceTime and Skype on the frequent basis to reconnect with their families and friends. Hence, the general level of stress of such respondents was dramatically lower compared to the peers who ignored the recent technological innovations and saw their loved ones only during the weekends or holidays. Moreover, such websites as LinkedIn and Facebook are helping millions of people to discover new possibilities and reach new horizons by finding friends and love all around the world in the way it was never imagined before.

In conclusion, it is true that face-to-face communications will always remain an important part of everyday life for human beings, nonetheless, new technologies which are created to improve it will definitely stay around in the foreseeable future. And, it is up to everyone how to manage the perfect balance of using all of those applications and maintain a healthy approach to life.