Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more
creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific
examples to explain your answer
In this modern age, some people claim that participating in fun activities would be
far more beneficial than reading. I partly agree with this statement and will give
justifications with relevant examples.
Notwithstanding, there are several advantages that the young could gain through enjoyable
activities. Firstly, attending those tasks would bring the enhancement of personal
soft skills such as communication or team building. For instance, a child joining in
a football game can understand that smooth cooperation between teammates which
could help them to win the match. As a result, children have opportunities for
upbringing with comprehensive developments including physical health and
essential skills. Moreover, this non-reading approach with excitement will always
let the youngsters give them a heads up about being cooperative and sociable. Engaging them into real
world situations somehow give a leeway and an aid for kids to become socially upright individuals.
On the flip side, as we all know reading is one of the ways to prepare literary
skills. Scientific research suggests that paying attention to academic reading
would be a strong advocacy to a child's progress in learning, take Vietnamese
students as an example. In Vietnam, where chalks and boards and books are more
familiar with students than high-tech devices, spending time on reading would
allow them to understand it clearly, access a wide range and diverse knowledge,
and have a good preparation for classes. Besides, irrespective of whether the
child is just a beginner or a fluent reader, it would be play vital role in keeping them
interested in books and increase the exposure to the language.
To sum up, while recreational tasks provide the young with predominant skills in real
life scenario, reading contributes in helping more in exploring academic knowledge. Both factors have
considerable effects towards the child's growth in mental, physical, and
psychological aspects.