Some think that students must travel to another country in order to learn its language and customs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a heated debate around the methods of adopting a new language and culture. Some claim that to master those things, students must live in another country. I partly agree with this statement and will provide explanations with relevant examples.

It is undeniable that studying overseas will benefit students both in learning a second language and customs. Firstly, in the communication aspect, students somehow are put under the pressure that hardly foreigners could understand their mother tongue. Therefore, they have to make efforts to have effective conversations with other people which would probably fasten the learning process. Secondly, living with natives will help people experience more about those different customs and cultures. For example, there is a stereotype that the British usually drink tea in the afternoon, but students will figure out that it is true or not through observing themselves. As a result, traveling is considered to be the most effective way to learn one country’s language and customs.

On the other hand, the booming of technology is now offering people a number of learning methods. The huge number of online curriculums of learning language is promoted daily on the internet where native teachers could interact directly with students through webcam and microphone. If chatting daily with foreigners will enhance their speaking skills, learners could select among plenty of applications to practice, such as Skype or Messenger. In addition, to explore a whole new culture, Youtube, a platform uploading diverse videos, would provide users with vivid images and real experiences sharing from people worldwide. Ultimately, all of those mentioned options could teach one with a small budget or even without any costs.

In conclusion, living in a foreign environment will give a boost to improve one’s knowledge about a country, however, it is not the only way to learn new things.