Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets, many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree

The large appearance of supermarket in some country might bring people many advantages. However, some people claim that with the expansion of supermarket; many small, local businesses are forced to compete the shopping mall. As the result, small, local businesses cannot beat the rival and they need to be closed and that closure will make local community to be collapsed. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with that statement.

Firstly, supermarket bring people the convenience that small store cannot have. People can buy everything that they need in one building only. Many services take place in one area such as cinema, drinks, food store and many daily services will help people save much of their time due to travelled distances between stores are removed. Secondly, people can purchase variable of products parallel with manufacture can sell their goods without legal issue. Big square can ensure the origin place that the stock come from that will protect the brands also customers. Last but not least, the price and the diversity of products in mart will bring people more choices than local store. For example, many types of fruit such as apple is imported due to big company have bigger investment.

On the other hand, the disappearance of small store will bring some negative perspective. Although many services take place under one proof, the distance people need to reach supermarket will be longer than local mart. It will make people not prefer buying fresh food every day, they will buy canned food or freezing food which contain less nutrition and taste which contrast with convenience store. Moreover, no brand products can easily be sold at local store and it will make more jobs and unique goods to consumers. Lastly, mall is crowded due to it is a large complex. Many people come to small building will decrease the quality of services and the most important it will spread the danger of disease especially this time is the peak of Covid-19.

In conclusion, although local mart will bring some advantages to people, the development of supermarket is definitely crucial due to its benefits. The local communities cannot be killed by the rapid expansion of supermarket if local authorities have some right policy.