Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

These days, more and more local markets are unable to challenge with chained stores and malls. Some people believe that this could have an adverse effect on local finance and will abolish local communities. My position is argued further with clarification.

Out of all the reasons, there are two main reasons why people believe that small stores will be replaced with hypermarkets. The primary argument supporting this idea is that finding a wide range of goods in superstores is easy to compare to small markets. For example, in hypermarkets, we can find clothes, home appliances, and foods, together, in contrast to local markets with limited goods. Secondly, the supermarkets provide a wide range of facilitates for comforting of customers such as car parks and food courts. The result of this is that localized markets have less popularity in some countries, which in turn leads to the death of business in regional communities.

However, it must be said there are several arguments to the contrary. The foremost reason is for buying a shortlist of daily needs it is better to shop from the local markets than finding a hypermarket. A further argument against the main idea is that in local communities, some unique goods such as traditional crafts are sold, while in the supermarkets, these goods are not available.

Thus, to conclude the discussion, it can be finally said that although the supermarkets could threat the local stores, I strongly believe that if the local community prepare themselves for competing with supermarkets, they will not disappear from the streets.