Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The expansion of technology in past few decades has risen concerns about the local product in the market. As we know that there are the variety of items have patented in this century which has changed human lifestyle dramatically. Because of that people are mostly relying on new products and prefer an easy access to these products. In this regards, supermarkets have played a major role to fulfil the human demand easily and accessible, thereby it has severely impaired the local markets in some countries. I do agree with the damaging impacts of the supermarket on local businesses. In this study, I will highlight the pros and cons of supermarket along with the local way of selling products.

Considering the advantages of the supermarket, firstly, it saves time by providing the plethora of items without searching them in different places. Secondly, it posses an easily approachable infrastructure along with an updated security system, thereby having a car park for automobiles and care for purchase items. Additionally, shopping at the supermarket is cheaper than buying things from the different public stores. As public transport is usually linked to the supermarkets in the city, so, one can easily approach them. This has two indirect advantageous; one it saves fuel price and second, it dwindles traffic congestion in the city.

On the other hand, the supermarket has almost vanished the local businesses in many developing countries. In these countries, the local businessmen are facing the severe economic crisis as their artefacts are unable to compete with international brands sold at the supermarket. Because of that many developing countries are confronted with plenty of socio-economic issues such as poverty, unemployment, and unrest in the country. Even many people are employed due to the expansion of supermarkets but this figure is below then the number of unemployed people.

To sum up, in my opinion, the proliferation of supermarket is undeniably good for a society unless it doesn't create any social unrest in the community. Finally, I will suggest that supermarket's branches should be open in rural areas, so that, they can be benefited too.