Due to the increasing density of living areas in a city, most residents are suffering from physical and social dangers. Consequently, they are against living in the city.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

City life issues in the world today are widely debated, with some claiming that they cause physical and social threats for city dwellers who are not satisfied with living in a city. However, I personally do not entirely accept this, and I will explain in this essay.

Firstly, we have to consider the potential positives of city living. Major cities around the world are a place where big events such as sporting events, concerts, festivals, and art openings are held. In Iran, for example, almost all football national team matches are held in the Azadi stadium which is located in the cosmopolitan city called Tehran. Such events can make a considerable contribution to urban residents' experiencing positive emotions. Furthermore, there are numerous infrastructures, facilities, and amenities in big cities, including shopping centers and public transport systems which in turn provide residents with convenience and comfort. In these cases, city life actually leads to a comfortable and lavish lifestyle.

A further reason to be against this idea is the economic aspect. Although most cities are overpopulated and the roads are heavily congested, yet we do not have to deny that these are characteristics of metropolises that can help the economic dynamics of cities. The more people living in a city, the more job opportunities, labor force, and highly paid jobs are available. Take New York City which has the largest population and is the most crowded city among other cities in the US and other international cities as an example. In this city, not only the standard of living but also the quality of life of people is highly considerable. Therefore, one of the main advantages of living in a city is to make a lot of money.

This s not to say life city is entirely good. There are drawbacks in terms of air pollution, lack of parking as well as the cost of living. But to say that it is always a force for good is to ignore the various problems it causes.