Ecotourism is now defined as responsible travel to natural areas that conserves the environment.What are the advantages of ecotourism? How can we make ecotourism more popular?

OR the last decade ecotourism has become incredibly popular since awareness about environmental issues is rising among the population. Nowadays green tourism is determined as accountable trips to remote regions that preserves THE nature. I am convinced that economic support and impact on the community are two main advantages of ecotourism and promotion of this trend should be boosted via social networks and travel agents.

Firstly, one of the advantages which is local financial support secures sustainable growth of local communities. Most such tourist places are located in remote areas that is why it heavily relies on tourists to build their economy. For instance, regular travel returns only 20% of revenue back to local communities while eco can return as much as 95%. ЭТО НЕ ПРИМЕР Hence, a constant stream of visitors will ensure the financial improvement of the inhabitants.

The second advantage is a positive impact on community culture. Rural tourism not only creates jobs for locals, but it also promotes and preserves traditional practices rather than altering native customs to fit specific international norms. For example, many travelers adore Africa for its unique involvement visitors into communities’ everyday life where they learn how to cook local delicacies and participate in national dances. Thus, sustainable tourism creates cultural connections between travelers and citizens.

These days a variety of social networks enable to promote eco-friendly tourism. This can be done through creating a content strategy, preparing infographics,building an active community of eco-travellers and encouraging conversation among them. At the end of 2018 was established one russian start-up which organizes eco trips to Europe and it has grown significantly during one year using proper strategy for advertising their services on Instagram.

To conclude, local economic sustainability and preservation of culture play a significant role in providing long-term benefits to a community and for further development of ecotourism social networks we need to to raise awareness about the environment and to educate the public on conservation through social networks.