education

Currently, families tend to send their children to private schools over public ones. Therefore, some residents debate that they should not be required to pay taxes that support the state education system. In this essay, I will consider both sides of the argument and give my point of view.

On the one hand, we need to consider why families think that way. We all know that private schools' fee is really expensive, in return for a better experience for students with more equipment, modern facilities, and extracurricular activities compared to public schools. Some wealthy parents can pay that amount easily, however, students in private schools don't just come from rich families. For example, there are some students who can’t pass the entrance exam of public schools, so they have to apply to private schools with lower entrance scores. In those cases, tuition fees can be a burden for unwealthy families. Thus, they are likely to consider not supporting the government education system with their hard-earned salaries.

On the other hand, paying taxes is the responsibility of all citizens. Firstly, the amount of tax they pay is used not only for education but also for other areas such as environment, health, and transportation. Secondly, tax retrieval can become difficult when there are people who do not have to pay taxes, and this can also lead to dissatisfaction of some inhabitants. In that sense, the thinking that those families who decide to send their children to private school institutions must be freed from paying taxes is definitely inappropriate.

To sum up, there are many sides to the question of whether or not to pay taxes. In my point of view, I support the idea that paying taxes is fair for everyone.