The education you receive from your family is more important than the education you receive from the school.

To what extent do you agree with this statement and why?

Many people assume that school is not the only source of knowledge, and in some cases, a family can provide more useful education. I strongly agree with the statement considering that the curriculum set by the schools cannot represent the real skill demands to survive in this life. This essay will elaborate on an adverse side of school’s educational system and a positive element that family’s education system can offer.

To begin with, schools are specifically designed to impart necessary knowledge for employment purposes, which is obviously insufficient to cover what people need in life. Most school’s curriculum teaches, for example, Mathematics and Physics, and the knowledge will mostly be beneficial when you are applying for a specific vacancy. However, as life is not only a matter of obtaining a job, we need to have skills to, for instance, cope with personal issues: stress, decision-making, and communication. Those skill examples are not inside most schools’ purposes, thus leaving people without those crucial abilities.

In contrast, a family can offer knowledge to survive, such as financial literacy. This knowledge is apparently regarded useless by formal education systems; Yet, the fact shows otherwise. Many successful students who are accepted in top companies struggle with their financial management. Most of them confessed that schools have to put inside the financial knowledge into their curriculum as the benefit seems real. Few of them said that their family incessantly provides them with financial knowledge, thus allowing them to manage their money efficiently and even outstandingly. This ability enables them to survive in the real world.

All in all, I believe that family has a substantial role in supplying basic but important education knowledge for people. Relying only upon skills taught in school will not invariably guarantee success as its syllabus is more or less designed for job-oriented skills. Instead, to survive in life, we need more survival skills that are beyond what schools afford to provide.