Nowadays, many countries all over the world expend part of their national budgets to improve education for young people as it is one of the most demographic factors of nations’ development. However, there are also some arguments that educating illiterate adults also deserves to receive more attention and investigation from governments. This bellow essay will discuss both sides from my point of view.

Increasing of literacy rate of adults brings a whole host of positive impacts for the society undoubtedly. Firstly, this campaign will help illiterate classes to have a chance to get a better job and change their life, as a majority of companies requires their employees to know how to read and write. Thus, it will provide more staff members for any workplaces, which is definitely a great boon for society especially in some countries struggling with lacking of young workers like Japan and other European ones.

On the contrary, this trend also has a range of disadvantages. As most of the adult population have more duties to carry on, for instance, taking care of their grandchildren or doing housework, they do not have enough time left for studying. In addition, some of them will assume that at their ages, they no longer have to learn how to read and write or broaden knowledge because they feel they still can live happily without these skills. As a result, although the government spends lots of money and efforts to increase the number of literate adults, it may not receive a relevant result as the adult classes do not consider it is something necessary for their life.

To sum up, from the above arguments, the education of adults is absolutely a significant thing in any country. However, governments should pay attention to raise higher awareness about studying in the older generation to receive more successful results.