The education of young people is the main priority in countries around the world. Some people believe that educating adults who cannot read or write is important and governments should spend more money on this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many governments have been funding for the education of younger people as a mean of helping them achieve higher academic skills. Although so, many people believe that adults, too, should get free education from the government. This essay will discuss both views and argue why everyone should get tuition free of charge.

In recent decades, more and more people have acknowledged the importance of academic, leading to the opportunity of going to school for many children. However, this was not the case before, when all family members had to work to provide for their family, especially in developing nations. Education is important because it helps to improve one’s skill to its fullest, therefore increase the work quality overall. By helping adults to read and write will give them the ability to furtherly expand their academic skills on their own.

On the other hand, the cost of teaching people to read and write can be expensive and time-consuming for both the government and the learners. A study in 2016 showed adults take 30%, while elderly take 45% more time to learn the same thing than children. This point is correct, though, the benefits can outcome it. A nation with educated citizens will earn a higher GDP, therefore, the government can collect more tax in a long term, enough to fill the missing funds used for educating adults.

In conclusion, in spite of the expensive fund needed, teaching adults to read and write will be beneficial for both the government and the learners.