The environment problem facing today's world are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. Government and large companies should responsible for the deducing the amount of damage being done to the environment. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is an alarming issue that environmental degradation has become more severe. While the government and enterprises should take their responsibilites for reducing the damage, I believe that individuals also aid to ameliorate the situation.

On the one hand, the government and companies should place a high priority on alleviating the problems. From the government’s perspective, they might implement environmentally-friendly rules and regulations to cut down the contamination. For example, by imposing green taxes on commuters and fostering public transports usages, the volume of traffic declines, meaning that exhaust fumes which play a vital role in global warming significantly diminish. Similarly, large companies should counteract environmental destruction due to their adverse impacts on air, water and land qualities. Instead of consuming fossil fuel resulting in polluted emission, chemical pesticides leading to destroy the ecological balance, they should invest in alternative energy sources and organic products. Not only do these actions ease the damage but they also help to achieve a sustainable development.

On the other hand, just few individuals also can reduce the negative effects on the environment. They can join one of the organizations which form part of the green movement, in order to campaign for people awareness. Residents should abide by the rules of pollution reduction such as no smoking at public places. Additionally, customers are encouraged to replace plastic material on reusable one in packaging. This will slash the vast amount of waste which does not break down easily after years.

In conclusion, it is true that the government and large companies should take draconian measures; however, I opine that law-abiding citizens also have a huge influence on environmental protection.