Environmental hazards are often too great for particular countries or individuals to tackle. We have arrived at a point in time where the only way to lessen environmental

problems is at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problems have reached such proportions that people feel international organisations must be set up to intervene in world affairs to resolve these problems. Whether this will resolve the problem is very unlikely as international organisations are just an extension of human behaviour. That is, if human conflicts cannot be resolved at home, then they are unlikely to be resolved at the international level. Nevertheless,

international organisations do attract attention to the growing problem of pollution and the destruction of the environment. However, although I respect the aims of the international community to resolve the issue of environmental pollution and support their cause, I do not believe it is the best or only way to protect the environment; in fact, it is only a small part of what is needed in a global initiative.

All world problems, whether it is environmental pollution, war, energy insufficiency, or famine, arise from the abusive behaviour of all individuals, Therefore, the solution to all these problems is the need for collective consciousness. What is meant by this is that each individual must be aware of the impact he or she has on the world and their unique part to play in this world. After all, if one is happy with his life, he will surely not endeavour to harm the environment or anyone else. His behaviour will be that of a responsible individual.

What is needed, therefore, is education. Education is the key to all problems and it starts from pregnancy all the way to adulthood and beyond. Furthermore, education means that children all over the world should be allowed to go to schools with good teachers and where teaching materials and methods can be adapted to each individual. Education means raising children to be responsible individuals.

This may sound like utopia, but it is not: if a country has important problems in its educational system, then it should realise that it is contributing to the world's problems.These are perhaps long term solutions, but they are more realistic solutions than setting up

yet another international organisation.