Environmental issues in Viet Nam

In this modern era, environmental issues have been more care for by the government in Vietnam. The rise of numerous factories, manufacturing corporations, and industrial estates engenders water pollution to the surroundings and the life of local residents. This essay will discuss some reasons why this has occurred and check the consequences of this worrying trend.

An essential reason, as well as the biggest issue for environmental problems, is the industrial zones which create water pollution. Instead of money-consuming for process wastewater treatment but the leaders of industry who discharge waste-water direct into the rivers, even create smelly, uncomfortable for the inhabitants live nearby. For example, The event fish die series for Formosa toxics at Hà Tĩnh province causes is the company Formosa not non-compliance with the process of treating wastewater discharged into the river causes mass fish deaths and people around can not live because of the toxicity it causes. Another reason is the lack of knowledge of humans, they waste rubbish into the river, lake. For instance, when you walk out at Sai Gon river, you can be seen many people not only release fish but also drop with nylon up the river. Moreover, this nylon can get stuck on aquatic organisms and cause them to die, and will make the water more polluted.

The effects of this have been and will continue to be very serious. Firstly, there are many places that do not have fresh water to drink and use for basic demands because of the pollution of water sources that result from the industrial waste of many factories. At the same time causing a lot of losses to the fishery industry. Moreover, the rate of people suffering from acute and chronic diseases related to water pollution such as conjunctivitis, stomach, cancer... is increasing. For example, when using arsenic-contaminated water for drinking, people can get cancer, of which skin cancer is common. Therefore, we need to protect the water in our area.

In my opinion, the best solution for this problem is improving the environmental awareness of people by a suitable education program that can educate people about the importance and essential role of the environment. In addition, the government should have more heavy penalties for any action that does not follow the law and harms nature. If there is effective cooperation between people and organizations, the environment will get better in the near future.