Environmental problems around the world are now so severe that an individual can no longer make a positive difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, issues related to the environment worldwide are serious enough that a person can no longer make a positive change. This essay totally disagrees with this statement because decreasing the use of personal vehicles and avoiding single-use plastic bags are the possible ways of making a difference now, the results of which can be seen in the future.

When people use public transport instead of using their own car, bike, or truck, they cause less pollution to the atmosphere because there is less consumption of fossil fuels like petrol, diesel. Therefore, there is less production of carbon dioxide and other harmful gases from fossil fuels which pollute our planet. These efforts will positively impact on decreasing the environmental issues in the future. For example, an article was published in the New York Times, that if an average individual uses public transport to commute for personal purposes 4 days in a week, he causes 8 times less air pollution in a year than the one who goes to the office on a car.

Single-use plastic bags are non-biodegradable and non-recycled. These cause pollution on the planet, if thrown into the water, or on land. These bags release toxic fumes when burnt. Therefore, if a person takes a step now, and does not use these plastic bags, can still make a positive change on the earth. For instance, in the past, I used to buy plastic bags to carry groceries, but now as I am aware of the problems created by these bags. Therefore, I carry reusable cloth bags. I think that I am making a positive difference.

In conclusion, although global issues are serious now and an individual can not immediately make a positive difference. These small steps now can help to deal with these problems in the future by using fewer personal vehicles and stopping the use of single-use plastic products.