Essay question: Some believe that cultural traditions will be destroyed by the money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others think it is the only way to save these cultural traditions. Discuss both views and show your own opinion. You should write at least 250 words. *

Nowadays, some people believed that the culture will be affected negatively when people try to make profits from the traditions’ attractive while others are of the opinion that that tourism strategy is the only way to save our cultural values. From my perspective, I strongly agree with the latter opinion.

On the one hand, the opinion about how attracting tourists by cultural traditions can be harmful to the national culture is supported by some obvious reasons. Firstly, the commercialization of traditional values can lead to the perversion of customs. For instance, traditional rituals in some removed areas can be used by local travel companies to make money and become negatively superstitious services. In a long-term concern, this trend will affect the youngers’ perception about traditional customs. Secondly, having seen the benefits of attracting tourists with traditional culture, many people who did not have professional acknowledgment about the customs and traditions still spread those values as their main job. Thus, it will cause the cultural transmission to be incorrect, and contribute to fading the important values within the pass-on traditions.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why people firmly believe that developing cultural tourism is the only way to save these cultural traditions. First of all, profits gained from tourists can be used to restore historical relics or invest in preserving and developing intangible cultural values. In fact, without these sources of revenue, a range of historical sites all over the world have degraded or even disappeared. Moreover, tourism can not only be the source for saving cultural heritage but also can be a major source of income helping many local people to have such a long stable life.

To sum up, I have serious aggression that tourism is the optimal way to preserve and develop the precious cultural heritage and traditions. However, these money-making attractions must have long-term planning to ensure that they cannot adversely affect cultural traditions.