Euthanasia, or mercy killing , has been in the news more and more recently. Many people are strongly against such a practice , but there is a growing demand to have it legalized. How far do you agree with euthanasia being legal?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days many people are discussing their views about legalizing euthanasia in their country. The question is whether mercy killing is a good notion and following essay examines this issue in detail. Furthermore, this essay will also highlight my reasons for fully supporting euthanasia.

To begin with, many people are terrified with the concept of mercy killing because of its dreadful act. They relate euthanasia with suicidal cases and also fear for the wrong practice of it thereby oppose its legalization . For example, a negligence of doctor in any case might be turned into euthanasia case, if there are some loopholes in it. In the aforementioned examples, it shows horrifying situation of its wrong practice, thus people will be reluctant to practice and implement it in society.

On the other hand, it can be great relief from pain and suffering to the patients and even their families by implementing adequate methodology for mercy killing practice. Undoubtedly, loosing someone is a great loss which cannot be compensated but seeing someone daily in miserable and helpless condition might lead to depression. Furthermore, being practical, spending huge amount financial resources in patient who does not have any hope of recovering is also waste of time and money. It may sound unhumanitarian act but there are many cases in our societies where families loose all their fortune in order to prolong the life of patient who is staying in coma for many months. So someone must think in pragmatic way and legalize euthanasia.

To recapitulate, the primary reason for banning euthanasia is a fear of wrong practice; however, there can be different situation of worst suffering for both patients and their families where it should be considered to be legalized, so that we can reduce emotional and financial loss of patients and their families.