For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skills be made as a fourth skills to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree ?

Different people hold different opinions regarding essential knowledge needed in this modern age. The question is whether computer skills are so mandatory in todays age that it should be a part of our curriculum. The following essay examines this issue in detail and fully supports the notion of introducing subjects related with computer knowledge as compulsory course.

To begin with, there is no doubt that reading, writing and mathematics are still conspicuous knowledge in our education system. Needless to say, with these above skills, our older generations were not only able to adequate jobs but were also able to live higher standard of life. So, there were more successful than other illiterate individuals, in those days. For example, we have seen in past that people, who are well educated would automatically receive government or lucrative jobs and even their career path was always uprising. Thus unanimously, reading, writing and mathematics skills are essential for present learner, too.

However, in modern days like today, due to cyber age and huge prospectus of information technology jobs, computer knowledge is booming subject for all fields. If any employee in organization does not have adequate computer skills nowadays, they will surely feel handicapped and might even get fired in future. That is why, more and more people are studying variety of courses related with it. A recent research from Harvard University in 2015, for instance, have claimed that an institution, who teach latest technical skills related with programming languages, data networking and artificial intelligence have more enrollment of students as compared with colleges.

To recapitulate, although traditional subjects have equal importance in todays curriculum, computer related courses must be mandatory introduced in educational level so that every individuals will equal opportunities in future. This is the reason, I fully support computer education should be compulsory course for everyone in this modern age.