Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

Increase of food waste is becoming an alarming concern in recent years. There are two main causes and several merits could be taken to takle the issue, which will be elaborated below.

Improvement in the material life and the prevalence of social media platforms are two main reasons behind the increasing amount of food waste these days. As the global economy is booming in recent years and humans are becoming more weathier, people tend to leave more food than in the past. This is rooted in the fact that when people are less well-off, they attempt to save their expenditure by avoid reckless buying behaviors, and food is often bought with just adequate quantity which is opposed to consumerism lifestyle for the time being. In addition, the affect of social media such as Facebook or Instagram also contribute to the increment of food waste. This stems from the fact that young people, the most active user group on the internet, tend to excessively buy food for showcasing their extravagant lifestyle. These people often buy in order to follow new trend, thereby posting video, pitures on social platforms. Thus, people are not burdened with the shortage of food like in the past.

To ameliorate the negative impacts of increasing leftover food, there should be the interference of governments through social campaigns to raise awareness of the public. Political leaders should run videos to educate people about the economical and environmental affects when people leave a great amount of food behind. Young people should be educated to eat up their portion and order enough food. Finally, people should be told about the link between saving the planet and their eating habit.

In sum, better standard of living and wispread use of internet cause trash from food increasing. The authorities should launch programmes to mitigate the trend.