people move to different places several times during their life. Causes? Is this a negative or positive development?

Individuals change their settlement a couple of times in their life. Employment opportunities and higher living standards could be attributable to this phenomenon. This trend has both merits and risks which will be elaborated below.

On the one hand, a wide range of jobs available in either metropolitan areas or developed countries which could act as a catalyst for national and international migration of people. This is deeply rooted in the fact that lack of human resources in these regions or nations could result in better job prospects and higher salary for workers. To illustrate, Vietnamese employees are flocking to Japan or Korea in order to seek labour-intensive jobs which is more well-paid in their homeland. In addition, people who have lucrative income tend to look for settlement which are fulfilled with necessary amenities and public services. Thus, their well-being and their dependents would be secured.

Conversely, there are unarguable pitfalls associated with the movement of individuals include loss of skillful workforce and overpopulation of certain places and nations. The first rationale is that high mobility of inhabitant could lead to brain drain of their hometown or motherland which means that professionals and the elite could change their living places for better job offers or education for their children. Given the shortage of quality workers, these places could witness the decrease in terms of productivity and national output. Besides, Given the high density of people to certain areas that would cause extreme burden on the local infrastructure. Finally, it is common that the differences in cultural, religious, and educational background of new inhabitants and the local people could cause unavoidable conflicts and have negative impacts on societies.

In the light of these facts, many disadvantages on new living places could be attributed to the trend, albeit immigrants could be highly benefits. I believe that constant changing one’s living locations would have more disadvantages than benefits.