Every year more and more students choose to study online rather than attend classes on campus.

Why students prefer to study online? What can universities do to attract students to study on campus?

Studying online has become increasingly popular in recent years,so much so that universities are having a difficult time filling their classrooms. Put simply,nowadays students prefer to study online rather than attend classes on campus. This essay will discuss both why students prefer online study and what universities can do to reengage students to bring them back on campus.

Since the early 2000s students have benn leaving the classrooms in favor of studying on their computers. First and foremost,studying online is far more convenient than attending classes on campus. Who wants to drive through peak hour traffic to attend a one hour lecture when one can simply flick a switch and watch it online? Technological advances such as live streaming mean that students can participate in the classes without having to be there in person. Avoiding the hassle of attending class,which might be located in a long way away,is the major reason why students prefer online study.

Universities have very little hope to attract students back to their classrooms. As technology progresses and computers have become more and more 'virtual',very few students will want to actually attend real life classes. In the not too distant future it is predicted that virtual reality will enter the mainstream, which means that universities are fighting a downfall battle. The reality is that students will continue to study via computer technology rather than in real life.

This essay discussed why students prefer to study online rather than attend classes at university. In my opinion, studying online is far more convenient for students and it is only going to continue to become more convenient. Universities will not be able to compete the forces of technology and therefore will continue to lose student numbers.