Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days more and more languages are dying out. Some people appreciate this trend because they think that people can communicate more easily with fewer languages. I generally agree.

Having fewer languages increases the possibility of speaking in the same language and causes people understand each other more easily. When people get clustered into fewer groups, each language makes you able to communicate with more people. For instance, if Persian became prevalent among all Middle East countries, the population of people who you can contact with, would be increased. In addition, if people speak in the same language, the probability of misunderstanding will decline. People can communicate with each other fluently and be sure that they pass their point properly.

On the other hand, dying out some languages causes vanishing the identity of some ethnics. Some older documents of those ethnic groups can be barely read and understood. Hence, we should keep the ability of learning different languages besides, moving forward to making communication more easily. For instance, we have many different local languages in Iran and each of these languages has their own backgrounds. Many songs have been written in these languages which are valuable. So, by documenting these relic things, we should do all our efforts to minimize what we lose in this process.

Dying some languages is not a disaster if we have saved and documented all its heritages. Therefore, re-dividing people to bigger groups which have a same language, is an opportunity to reach the goal of global village.