Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this dynamic world, nothing is constant. Many languages become dead each year. In my opinion, it is a cost we pay for moving forward in the world and leaving behind the things we might have no use of.

To begin with, the major reason why languages die out is that they are no longer spoken or are used anywhere. Nowadays English is considered to be the global language as it is spoken and understood by the majority of the population of the world. Due to a limited number of languages being understood on a global scale, it is a good thing to have fewer languages. This is an immediate product of globalization of the world. On the other hand languages like Latin, Greek, etc. are dead as they have no practical use in today’s scenario. Moreover, the dead languages become extinct due to the abolishment of the civilization or communities who used them for communication purposes. Hence, these languages no longer serve any use in the world neither for communication or scripts.

On the other hand, dead languages are still used for many other things. Different cultures throughout history used different languages to convey their messages to one another. Due to the banishment of several languages in history, learning them has become a huge deal. Dead language experts are one of the highly paid intellectuals who help to decode various ancient scripts and carvings related to ancient times. The dead languages are used to create nomenclature of science and other fields as they are no longer in use and hence are constant throughout the world. Consequently, keeping the dead languages alive.

In conclusion, different languages ensured that cultural diversity in the world. Although, it isn’t so bad to have fewer languages to ensure better communication globally.