With veganism trend, many people are convincing themselves that plant-based foods can suffice when it comes to daily nutrient needs, so they tend to remove all traces of meat from their diets. However, I have to (politely) disagree with the anti-meat argument.

There are a variety of reasons why people should have meat-related foods in their meals. First, many important nutrients derive from animal sources. For example, if we are meant to subsist on vegetables alone, we will experience vitamin deficiencies because of some of the vitamins can only be obtained from meat. Another reason is that meat helps keep blood sugar levels stable due to its fat and high protein content. Steady blood sugar level is critical in preventing diabetes, as well as other chronic diseases. Moreover, with a moderate level of blood sugar, people are less likely to drool for fattening snacks and sweets which are unhealthy foods.

Apart from the practical advantages expressed above, meat offers a host of critical health benefits. Firstly, when people work themselves to the bone trying to gain muscle, they have to nourish their body appropriately. In fact, they can take protein supplements, but the best source of protein is fresh meat. Meat contains vitamins and minerals like zinc that aid muscle growth, which assists in muscle repair. Secondly, meat is one of the best sources of iron, which boosts energy levels and combats fatigue. Iron deficits can easily put people at risk of anemia and low energy, which is why anemia is a chronic problem for vegetarians.

In conclusion, with the reasons mentioned above, I think that people should not cut meat out of their diets because it has too much to offer.