Everyone should become vegetarian because they do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that letting their diets totally rely on vegetable is enough for all residents to have a healthy life. While not disavowing its positive impacts on humans, I opine that becoming vegetarians should not be proposed to the whole population.

On the one hand, not only is solely eating vegetables witnessed to be effective preventive medicines but also recognized to be advantageous for illness’ eradication. Indeed, vegetable is scientifically proved to efficiently build up the immune system, which plays a critical role in protecting humans from potential ailments. This is the reason for which vegetarians are observed better deal with the outbreak of Ebola epidemic than carnivorous ones, according to a recent study. Another benefit stems from the tackle of life-threatening diseases, in which a diet high in fiber can provide an excessive load of nutrition that one high in fat and protein cannot give. For example, a research has indicated that eating blueberry on a daily basis will equip people with flavonoid, an antioxidant that can prevent them from Alzheimer, cardiovascular diseases or even cancer. Hence, it is safe to say that the more regularly people eat vegetable, the less likely they need to take medicines, and suffer from their side effects.

On the other hand, it seems to me that becoming vegetarians should not be recommended for everyone due to several reasons. From a health perspective, although its strengths in promoting health are undeniable, vegetable is still not renowned as rich in calories. Therefore, if people, especially youngster, are provided with meals full of vegetable, its lack of protein or fat will be unable to meet their energy needs, which, as a consequence, leads to their inadequate long-term physical development. From an economic perspective, it is obvious that sales of meat would significantly decline when all residents switched to eat vegetable only. Consequently, this tendency would be detrimental to the agriculture sector, since it puts households living on raising cattle to the verge of losing their business.

In brief, I strongly believe that it is inappropriate to encourage all residents to be vegetarians despite the benefits brought about by vegetable.