Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits.

Discuss both view and state your own opinion.

Individuals have sparked off a heated controversy over the outcome brought about by hosting international sporting events. In my opinion, it should be encouraged despite a double-edged impact on the nation, which I will discuss below.

On the one hand, people support the events because of many benefits. Indeed, hosting a sporting tournament, states provide citizens with a chance to approach professional athletes. This fosters the passion for sport among youngsters, acting as a catalyst to contribute their sporting talent to the country. Moreover, while sedentary lifestyle is becoming a harmful trend recently, such tournaments play an important role in raising public interests in physical activities and health promotion. Moreover, the events also assure a persistent recognition and enhance host nations’ global figure. As a result, it is beneficial for tourism, foreign investment stimulation and diplomacy, like Vietnam in 2003, when the 22nd SEA games conveyed its prosperity and hospitality and marked the beginning of substantial economic growth later.

On the other hand, several reasons make people consider such events detrimental. Particularly, the requirement of infrastructure for the tournaments needs an enormous investment to fulfill. This may create a financial burden on host nations and, eventually, leave them economically exhausted. The problem may be exacerbated by the short-term use of these infrastructures, which bring about an inadequate outcome due to their redundancy. Second, although they are advantageous, sporting events are always less urgent priorities than others like environment or health care. Therefore, focusing on them may raise a question mark over the government’s ability to manage the budget, and cause social instability stemming from the harsh criticism of citizens.

Briefly, I believe that the government should organize sporting events because of their enormous benefit, although the drawbacks should not be overlooked.