Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

People have different views about how global sporting events will impact on their country. While there are some drawbacks when holding such important events, I would argue that it is better for a country to host an international sporting event.

This is likely to benefit those countries where sporting competitions are hosted. First and foremost, a country will be known more by almost people all over the world because this event will attract millions of people who are the fans of sport. Therefore, people in that country will proud of their nation even their country is small such as East Timor. From an economic perspective, celebrating an Olypimpic Game will result in greater demand for employment and tourism. Olympic Sydney 2000, is a typical example for this positive side, this event brought 1,6 millions of tourist to Australia in this year.

Howerver, the reputation and economic arguments given above can be considered from the opposite angle. Firstly, from the financial point of view, a country has to pay a huge amount of money for improving the infrastructures. This can lead to economic crisis in a country. For instance, Greece had to receive a gaint debt after Olympic Athen in 2004 and became the first country had to be supervised about finance by EC. Secondly, it can be influential the relationship between the countries if their athletes are unpleasant about the accomodation or meet the problem during the competition.

In conclusion, reserving the right to hold sporting events will have both beneficial and detrimental effects on a country.