Everyone should stay at school until 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, the problem whether students should stay at school until the age of 18 has attracted a great deal of media attention due to its impacts on youngsters’ careers. While this is beneficial to some extent, i believe that it should be not compulsory for all students to go to school until 18.

On the one hand, maintaining students at school until 18 has some advantages. Firstly, high school can provide a sufficient education and preparation for children to pursue higher education. As the cut-throat market requires candidates to have high skill levels so that it is necessary for young people to gain educational qualifications if they really want to have job prospects and move up the career ladder. Secondly, educational environment is the safest one for adolescents who are not mature enough to distinguish between right and wrong. If juveniles expose themselves to the real life at early age, they can be easily lured into social temptation and illegal problems such as drug dealing, gambling and stealing which can ruin their bright future.

On the other hand, i believe that education until 18 is not compulsory for all teenagers. The first one is that there are some occupations which don’t require high school diploma such as electricians, mechanics, hair designers and so forth. Therefore, instead of gaining higher qualification, taking part in some vocational courses would be better for youngsters to learn actual experience and strenuous training. In addition, family background is an important factor to be taken into consideration because not all families families can afford for children to stay at school until they are 18. Alternatively, young people can enter work force to make ends meet and reduce financial burden on their families.

In conclusion, while schooling is useful for almost students, it seems to me that young people shouldn’t be under compulsion to continue school until the age of 18.